June 24, 2020

Dear Marion County Public School Families,

We appreciate the patience and understanding of our families and communities as we have been planning for a safe return to school. The Marion County public school corporations have been meeting weekly with the Marion County Public Health Department (MCPHD) as we prepare for the 2020 - 2021 school year. We know that Governor Holcomb's Executive Order allows schools in Indiana to open July 1. In addition, Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett and MCPHD Director Dr. Virginia Caine anticipate that Marion County will be in Stage 5 in mid-July based on the current data. And, the Indiana Department of Education, in conjunction with the Indiana Department of Health and the Indiana Family and Social Services Agency recently released guidance for the reopening of Indiana schools in their IN-CLASS report.

Marion County public schools, in collaboration with the Marion County Health Department, have come together to share important information as we prepare to welcome your children back to our classrooms. All Marion County traditional public schools will be starting on their scheduled date and will offer instructional options in either the physical school setting or online for students who are not able or are uncomfortable returning to school on the scheduled start date. Greater detail will be provided to our families in early July after the Marion County Public Health Department finalizes their guidance to us. The guidance we will receive from the MCPHD and will share with you in early July will include procedures for:

Symptom Screening
Cleaning and Disinfection
Cloth Facial Coverings and Masks or Face Shields
Social Distancing
Student Health and Safety
Bus Transportation
Identifying, Reporting, and Tracing COVID-19 Cases

Please expect more details to be shared in early July.

Thank you again for supporting your Marion County public schools as we look forward to a safe reopening for the 2020-2021 school year.

Dr. Paul Kaiser, Beech Grove City Schools

Dr. Bruce Hibbard, Franklin Township Community Schools

Ms. Aleesia Johnson, Indianapolis Public Schools

Dr. Matthew Prusiecki, MSD of Decatur Township

Dr. Shawn A. Smith, MSD of Lawrence Township

Mr. Patrick Mapes, Perry Township Schools

Dr. Flora Reichanadter, MSD of Pike Township

Dr. Timothy Hanson, MSD of Warren Township

Dr. Nikki Woodson, MSD of Washington Township

Dr. Jeff Butts. MSD of Wavne Township

Dr. Kyle Trebley, School Town of Speedway















